Alia 290915 006

On 14 May 2020, the members of the Advisory Committee of the Luxembourg Independent Media Authority, composed of people from the most representative organisations in the country’s social and cultural landscape, met for the first time following their appointment in February 2020. The members are appointed for a period of five years. According to the provisions of the Law of 27 August 2013 on the establishment of ALIA, the Committee must be consulted during an investigation opened in response to a complaint or on the Authority’s own initiative in cases related to the protection of minors and incitement to hatred based on race, sex, opinion, religion or nationality, for both radio and television services and film screenings.

Fernand Weides, representative of the Press Council, was re-elected as Chairman and Jean Rodesch, representative of the Health and Social Welfare League, and Abbes Jacoby, representative of the Déi Gréng parliamentary group, were elected as members of the Bureau.