Ongoing monitoring of changes to European regulations in the audiovisual field is vital. ALIA is represented in several networks, where it cooperates closely with its counterparts in other countries.


ERGA (European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services) was set up by a Decision of the European Commission on 3 February 2014 to strengthen cooperation between regulatory authorities for audiovisual services in the European Union and to facilitate the development of joint initiatives.

The group’s work focuses on regulatory developments with regard to audiovisual media services, with current topics including the convergence of media services in the digital age, the protection of vulnerable groups, freedom of expression and pluralism, and affirming the independence of regulatory bodies.

ERGA brings together the audiovisual regulatory bodies of the 28 European Union Member States, each represented by their chairperson.


The European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA) was set up in Malta in 1995. It serves as an open platform for informal discussions on a wide range of subjects that are of interest to regulatory authorities. EPRA meetings are used to exchange any information about issues pertaining to media and broadcasting regulation at European and national level. EPRA does not pursue national objectives or issue joint statements; instead it serves as a forum for discussion.

Fifty-three media regulatory bodies from 47 countries are currently members of EPRA. The Luxembourg National Programming Council (CNP) joined EPRA in 2002. In June 2014, ALIA took over the responsibilities of the CNP.

In May 2018, ALIA hosted EPRA’s 47th meeting in Luxembourg, which was attended by some 150 delegates and experts.


REFRAM (the Réseau francophone des régulateurs des médias, or Network of French-Speaking Media Regulatory Authorities) was set up in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) on 1 July 2007 as a platform for French-speaking regulatory bodies. It serves as a forum for informal discussions and debates on issues of common interest to the member authorities. REFRAM currently comprises 29 media regulatory authorities from 27 countries.

The CNP joined the network in 2009, and was replaced by ALIA in 2014.

Last updated: 14 February 2020